6th Antilles-Guyane Mayotte Thesis Award in Guadeloupe 01 | 01

Posted on March 3, 2022

6th Antilles-Guyane Mayotte
Thesis Award in Guadeloupe

The 6th edition of the Antilles-Guyana MAYOTTE Thesis Award, which takes place every two years, took place on February 19th at the Relais du Moulin, in Sainte-Anne, Guadeloupe. This award is granted by the UbiPharm group in partnership with the National Academy of Pharmacy since 2009.

The awards ceremony was held on 15 December 2021, during a solemn event organised by the National Academy of Pharmacy, which rewards pharmacy students throughout France. The winners this year are : Ms Camille WATTEZ (1st prize), Ms Julie LE PELLETIER (2nd prize ex-aequo), and Ms Lindy JIOUNANDAN (2nd prize ex-aequo). 

The jury was proud to present the lucky winners with a trophy, a symbolic financial envelope, and a book on West Indian pharmacopoeia.

The UbiPharm group subsequently invited the award winners to Guadeloupe. At the event, the winners presented their work to an audience of about 30 guests, including full and assistant pharmacists. Their theses were respectively on

  • Chiniy-trèf", a traditional West Indian medicinal preparation ;
  • the prevention of cerebral vascular accidents;
  • medicinal plants used by the descendants of Indian indentured labourers in Guadeloupe.

The Thesis Prize, which aims to recognize and highlight excellence, is awarded every two years to three pharmacy students whose theses deal with health issues relating to the West Indies and Mayotte.